London 2012 inspired Awards ceremony celebrates schools

Hundreds of teachers and leaders across the education and sport sector have celebrated the efforts of young people, schools and individuals over the course of the last 18 months as the Youth Sport Trust’s annual conference in Coventry begins today.

The event held last night, which also marked the 10th anniversary of the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games, recognised the work of schools and the sector in promoting the central role of PE, sport, and physical activity for young people’s wellbeing.

Held at the Coventry Building Society Arena, it saw sporting stars including Hannah Cockroft OBE share her journey in a special video message since London 2012. 

Ali Oliver MBE, Chief Executive of the Youth Sport Trust, said: 

“The Youth Sport Trust would like to congratulate all the winners of our Inspiring Changemaker Awards 2022. They have each demonstrated a huge commitment to the central role of play, sport and physical education in young people’s recovery from the consequences of the pandemic – using it to build back wellbeing and accelerate academic progress.  

“The Youth Sport Trust Annual Awards dinner took the 10th anniversary of the London Olympic and Paralympic Games as its theme. It was an inspiring moment for us to come together and celebrate both the legacy of 2012 on a generation and those behind the scenes who work so hard to build brighter futures for young people through the power of sport every day. We would like to recognise and thank all the educators who have given so much to young people throughout the pandemic.” 

The night was hosted by former Paralympic swimmer Kate Grey and broadcaster and retired sprinter Jeanette Kwakye MBE with nine awards in total handed out. The winners are: 

Campbell CARE Award 

Peter Knight (Stride Active), Hereford 

Beckwith CARE Award UK 

Alfriston School, Beaconsfield 

Beckwith CARE Award International 

Louay Ali Kadro, Shatila Refugee Camp, Lebanon 

Outstanding Contribution to the Community (sponsored by Decathlon) 

Falkirk’s Active Schools Coordinators & Falkirk and Grangemouth High Schools, Scotland 

Outstanding Early Years Physical Literacy Practice (sponsored by Decathlon) 

Bodmin Preschool, Cornwall 

Outstanding Primary Practice (sponsored by Enrich Education) 

Stokes Wood Primary School, Leicester 

Outstanding Secondary Practice (sponsored by Ortus Energy) 

Theale Green School, Theale 

Outstanding Multi Academy Trust Practice (sponsored by Ortus Energy) 

The GORSE Academies, Leeds 

Outstanding Inclusive Practice (sponsored by Kingswood) 

Olive AP Academy, Essex 

The Awards evening, which Ortus Energy was headline sponsor for, preceded the Youth Sport Trust’s Inspiring Changemakers Conference which begins today at the Coventry Building Society Arena. 

It will see Children’s Commissioner for England Dame Rachel de Souza give an opening address alongside other high-profile speakers. A virtual address from the Minister for Children and Families, Will Quince MP, will be made with an update on government’s new School Sport and Activity Action Plan, and the important role it sees for sport in education. Attendees will also have the chance to network, make new connections, and take part in workshops.   

Follow #YSTConference and @YouthSportTrust on social media for some of the key highlights throughout the day. 

Published on 3 March 2022