Girls Active Awards 2020 Shortlist Announced

The Girls Active Awards now in their fifth year, are a celebration of the work girls eight to 18 are leading, to get their peers more active and enjoying PE and physical activity in their school.

Teachers, parents and the girls themselves can nominate those individuals or groups that meet one of the five award categories celebrating the work done through the YST Girls Active programme.

This year’s Girls Active Awards have seen schools across the country submitting entries, with a fantastic group of girls nominated for the different awards. The nominations showcase some truly inspirational stories from girls who are really making a difference in their school, despite the challenging situation that pupils and schools have faced over the last six months.

This years’ shortlist has been announced:


  • Victoria Charlton from Anthony Gell School in Derbyshire
  • Emi Dylewska from Ivanhoe College in Leicestershire
  • Alisha Bethell from Highfields School in Matlock
  • Aliyah Adedapo from The Deanes in Essex
  • Ruchita Ganesh from Alperton Community School in Brent


  • Izzy Stansfield and Sophia Watt from Gilbert Inglefield Academy in Leighton Buzzard
  • Ella Gutteridge from Fulbrook Middle School in Bedfordshire
  • Ashleigh-Brooke Chadburn from Ashfield School in Nottingham
  • Toni-Georgina Patten O’Keefe from Arts & Media School in Islington

Personal Growth:

  • Sylvie McKeown from Reinwood Junior School in Huddersfield
  • Layla Chirms from Frederick Gent School in Derbyshire
  • Amy Truelove from The Redhill Academy in Nottingham
  • Holly Carr from Highfields School in Matlock
  • Shania Salah from Arts & Media School in Islington

Best Group/GLAMS/Squad:

  • Pittville Sports Ambassadors from Pittville School in Gloucestershire
  • Herne Bay GLAMS from Herne Bay High School in Kent
  • Girls Active Michael Syddall from Michael Syddall CofE VA Primary School in North Yorkshire
  • Ivanhoe College Miss Motivators from Ivanhoe College in Leicestershire
  • Outwood Valley Active Girls Group from Outwood Academy Valley in Worksop

Future Leader:

  • Trinity Charles from Michael Syddall CofE VA Primary School in North Yorkshire
  • Imogen Burton from Clavering Primary School in Hartlepool
  • Anjana from Kings Rise Academy in Birmingham

The Girls Active judging panel is now deciding on their winning nominees who will be announced at the virtual awards ceremony on Tuesday 03 November.

Girls Active is developed by the Youth Sport Trust, and is delivered in partnership with Women in Sport, and This Girl Can; it is funded through Sport England National Lottery. The programme involves girls in the design and delivery of PE, physical activity and school sport in primary and secondary schools.